Fear and Terror
Generate enough Fear (4 per player) by destroying Invaders (Town: 1, City: 2) and using Powers to earn a Fear Card from the Fear Deck. This Fear Card(s) is flipped and played after Events, before Invader Actions (Ravage, Build, Explore). It is then discarded. When enough Fear Cards are earned a Terror Level divider is revealed on the Fear Deck, increasing the Terror Level and making it easier to win the game. If you earn all Fear Cards, you win (Terror Level: Victory!).
At the start of the game, the Invaders are at Terror Level 1. They’re not afraid of the island and probably aren’t even aware of the Spirits’ existence. To win, you need to completely clear the island of Invaders. As you earn Fear Cards, you will reach new Terror Levels with easier victory conditions.
Fear Card: A card from the Fear Deck, earned by doing Fear to the Invaders. Fear Cards effects very rarely generate more Fear.
Fear Deck: A stack of Fear Cards separated by Terror Level dividers to represent increasing fright done to Invaders. General setup: bottom | 3 Fear Cards | Terror Level 3 divider | 3 Fear Cards | Terror Level 2 divider | 3 Fear Cards
Terror Level: I, II, or III, representing how frightened the Invaders are. Sets the current Victory Condition.
Terror Level Divider: The physical separator between the Fear Cards inside the Fear Deck. The current Terror Level (1-3) is printed on each one. (Terror Level dividers are not Fear Cards.)
Fear is generated by Spirit Powers with the Fear symbol () and by destruction (either directly by an effect or by Damage): destroying a Town generates 1 Fear and destroying a City generates 2 Fear. Fear terrifies the Invaders as a whole. For each Fear generated, advance one Fear Marker from the Fear Pool on the Invader board to the Generated Fear area.
To set up the Invader Board:
- Place the Invader Board on one side of the play area.
- Put 4 Fear Markers per player into the Fear Pool.
- Shuffle the Fear Cards and put 9 on the Fear Deck space. Place the "Terror Level 3" divider 3 cards from the bottom and the "Terror Level 2" divider 3 cards above that, so the deck is divided into 3 groups of 3 cards each.
- Make the Invader Deck and put it on the Invader Board on the Explore Action Space.
The Invader Deck is 12 cards:
- 3 Stage I cards on top, then
- 4 Stage II cards, then
- 5 Stage III cards on the bottom
- Take a random Blight Card and place it on top of the Blight Space on the board, “Healthy Island” side up, without looking at the back. Place the shown amount of Blight, plus one, onto the card. If you are not using a Blight Card, use the Blight instructions printed on the Invader Board instead.
If any Fear Card have been earned, pick up the whole facedown stack, flip it over and resolve the cards one at a time in the order they were earned. Then discard them to the Fear Discard Space on the board. Use only the effect listed next to the current Terror Level. This could be higher than when the card was earned. Fear effects last only for the current turn.
Fear Earned Through Fear Effects
Most Fear effects do not cause more Fear. They Remove Invaders rather than Damaging or Destroying them. However, there are exceptions. If you do earn a new Fear Card this way, put it at the bottom of the stack of cards you’re currently resolving.
Many Fear effects tell “each player” to do something. Players are restricted only by the card’s instructions in which lands they affect; the effect represents activity by the Invaders or Dahan, not the Spirits. First one player follows the instructions fully, then the next player does, etc.
List of Fear Cards
There are 50 Active Fear Card(s), 0 Retired Fear Card(s), and 0 Replaced Fear Card(s).
Active Fear Cards
Retired Fear Cards
There are no Retired Fear cards.
Replaced Fear CardsThere are no Replaced Fear cards.
Always, regardless of how it's destroyed: directly via a Power that says to destroy one, from damage done by a Power, from damage done by Dahan counterattacking, due to a Spirit's special rules, from a Fear or Event card, etc. (p. 18)
Fear from destruction is independent of any explicit Fear the Power does - e.g., Lightning's Shatter Homesteads reads "1 Fear. Destroy 1 Town." It will usually generate 2 Fear: 1 explicitly, and 1 for destroying a Town.
Note that when you remove or replace a Town or City, it does NOT cause any automatic Fear. Removing Invaders happens most frequently via Fear Cards, and usually represents the Invaders fleeing, which doesn't make them any more afraid. Replacing an Invader represents some sort of transformation or change; if it's a scary change, the effect will explicitly specify how much Fear to do.
You add the specified number of Fear markers from the box to the top part of the Fear Pool. They behave as normal, so for the rest of the game, it takes more Fear to earn each Fear Card.
Fear and Fear Cards
It's resolved that Invader Phase. Add it to the bottom of the stack of cards you're resolving. (p. 9)
If earning the card causes you to reach a new Terror Level, subsequent Fear Cards immediately start using the new Terror Level.
Yes, as long as any restrictions on the card are obeyed.
If the card says players must make different choices, this must be obeyed.
When resolved, during the next Invader Phase. (p. 9)
At that time, you pick up the stack of earned Fear Cards, flip it over (which means you're reading them in the order earned), and resolve them one at a time, without looking ahead. If you earn more Fear Cards while so doing, they go on the bottom of the stack.
Any space on the board.
Thematically, Fear effects are what the Invaders do as a result of their rising terror. (Or, sometimes, what the Dahan do when enheartened by the Invaders' faltering resolve.) While the players make the decisions, it's not the Spirits actually taking action.
Yes, you only resolve the effect corresponding to the current Terror Level, not any previous levels. (p. 9)
You resolve it at the current Terror Level, regardless of whether the Terror Level was lower when the card was earned.
Yes. The text on the last Fear card does not matter.
Revealing the card happens before the Fear/Event actions, not as part of it. (It's part of basic game structure.) So you can indeed look at the card prior to making adjacency decisions for Finder of Paths Unseen.
Actions are everything the card does - turning it over to read it isn't something the card does. (Also, Event Cards always result in multiple actions, and Fear cards often will as well; including "turn over the card" as part of the first action on the card would make "what's involved in an action?" a little inconsistent.)
The target land. All effects of a land-targeting Power happen in the target land unless otherwise specified somehow.
Yes. For instance, on Lightning's Swift Strike's power card Shatter Homesteads, you get 1 Fear directly, then (if you successfully destroyed a Town), get an extra Fear from that. Similarly if you trigger the more powerful effect of Rituals of Destruction (Vital Strength of the Earth).
Spirits and Innate Powers
No. The Ocean is only a land for the purpose of Powers and Blight, and not, for instance, for Events, Fear cards, or Stage II escalation effects. Ocean's Hungry Grasp
The target land.
Thematically, it should be "one land pushed to which has Town/City", but that's not how the card's written. Feel free to play it the thematic way if your playgroup prefers.
1 Fear total. The special rule checks if Disease would prevent a Build, not how much Disease is present.
Fear and Event cards are not Powers, so the special rule To Dream a Thousand Deaths does not apply. Thus the player who is playing Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares can, for instance, do real damage with the Dahan Raid fear card.
Thematically, the Dahan are actually doing a raid in the real world, it is not just a nightmare caused by Bringer. It also doesn't matter if it's a choice Event you pay Energy for: the damage is still real. Similarly, if Bringer uses a Defense power, the Dahan deal real damage during the Ravage phase as normal; it's the Dahan dealing damage, not Bringer.
To Dream a Thousand Deaths only changes what happens when Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares would destroy/damage Invaders. It doesn't change what happens if an effect checks whether or not Invaders got destroyed.